Council Recognition Reception

November 17, 2020, 7:30 pm

Chapelwood United Methodist Church
11140 Greenbay St., Houston TX 77024

The Council Recognition Reception is held annually to honor the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award and Heroism Awards. Join your fellow Scouters in recognizing the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award, the highest award a council can bestow on a volunteer Scouter. The William H. Spurgeon III Award and Lifesaving and Meritorious Awards are also presented.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. In 1931, BSA President Mortimer L. Schiff recommended to the national board that an award be devised for recognition of distinguished service to youth in the area of a local council, and the concept of the Silver Beaver Award recognition was established.

The Sam Houston Area Council has participated in this recognition program since its inception, presenting Silver Beaver Awards in 1931 to W. A. Childress and to E. A. Hudson. Beginning with those first two awards, more than 1,500 adult leaders in our council have been recognized in this manner. Nominations for the Silver Beaver Award are due annually on May 15th

Silver Beaver Nomination Form                Complete list of Silver Beaver Recipients

2019 Silver Beaver Recipients

The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service. Members of this year’s class are:

Richard Arnold, Jr.  
Molly Benitez  
Raul Benitez  
Kenneth Berntsen  
Matthew Bordelon  
John Brogan  
Rebecca Capt  
Julius Court  
Edna Crawfoot  
Sherry Dieckmann  
Nick Dockum  
Richard Hermes  
Nathan Jensen  
Patrick Martin  
Swee Ng  
Constance Oubre  
Samuel Randolph  
Victor Rollinson  
Bill Scott  
Joseph Stewart  
Dennis Williams  
Tamara Williams



For more information, contact the council recognition committee. Email Silver Beaver Award nominations to